Skip Navigation

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

Commencement Fireworks Show

 

5-10-16

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                        

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma has announced its individual college convocations and other end-of-year academic ceremonies.

OU previously announced that Ruth J. Simmons, President Emerita of Brown University, will deliver OU’s university-wide Commencement address on Friday, May 13. She was the first woman president of Brown University and will serve as Commencement speaker to honor the memory of OU alumna Elizabeth Garrett, who was initially scheduled to deliver the Commencement address and who recently passed away. Garrett was the first female president of Cornell University and one of OU’s most outstanding graduates in its history.

Commencement is the ceremony where degrees are officially conferred. Filled with pageantry, it is the time for all 2015-16 graduates to celebrate the culmination of their time at OU. Doctoral degree candidates are recognized individually during this time.

At the college convocations, all other graduates will be recognized individually, have their pictures taken and their diploma covers presented by their dean. Unless otherwise noted, all convocations will be held Saturday, May 14. Some events require tickets and/or have participation guidelines; for details and the most up-to-date information, please visit www.ou.edu/content/commencement/convocations_receptions/spring_convocation.html.

College of Allied Health Convocation

10 a.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 W. Brooks St. Reception immediately following, at 11:30 a.m., Chesapeake Energy Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. Paije Fauser, 271-6588 or paije-fauser@ouhsc.edu; www.ah.ouhsc.edu/main/graduation.asp.

College of Architecture Convocation

1 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center, 500 W. Boyd St. Reception immediately following, Buskuhl Gallery, 130 Gould Hall, 830 Van Vleet Oval. Callum Roxborough, 325-9481 or croxborough@ou.edu.  

College of Arts and Sciences Convocation

10 a.m., Lloyd Noble Center, 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. Kristi Morgan, 325-2347 or kcain@ou.educas.ou.edu/may-convocation-instructions.

College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences Convocation

2 p.m., Paul F. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 550 Parrington Oval. Reception at 4 p.m. Friday, May 13, Sam Noble Museum, 2401 Chautauqua Ave. Mona Springfield, 325-1819 or mspringfield@ou.edu.

Aviation Undergraduate Programs

Candidates will be recognized during the Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation listed below. Informal reception for Aviation Graduates and their guests to be held immediately prior, from
1 p.m. to 3:30 p.m., Max Westheimer Airport, 1700 Lexington St. Shelly Ainsworth, 325-7231 or sainsworth@ou.edu.

Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation

4:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Energy Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. Taylor Heatly, 325-4386 or theatly@ou.edu.

College of Dentistry Commencement

2 p.m., First United Methodist Church, 131 NW 4th St., Oklahoma City. Jennifer Quan, 271-5444 or Jennifer-Quan@ouhsc.edu.

College of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Convocation

10 a.m., First United Methodist Church, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, same location. Kristy Jurko, 271-4435 or kristy-jurko@ouhsc.edu.

Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy Convocation

4 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 W. Brooks St. Reception immediately following Chesapeake Energy Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. Liz Ehrhardt, 325-4005 or lehrhardt@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/content/mcee/undergrad_studentservices/graduation_information.html.

Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education Convocation

1 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Collings Hall, 820 Van Vleet Oval. Melanie Schneider, 325-4844 or mschneider@ou.edu.

Gallogly College of Engineering Convocation

7:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception set before the ceremony at 2 p.m., Devon Energy Hall Atrium, 110 W. Boyd St. Corinne Maag, 325-1069 or cmaag@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/coe/wssc/grad_convocation.html.

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Convocation

10:00 a.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Tickets required. Jane Custar, 325-7370 or janecustar@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/content/finearts/graduation.html.

College of International Studies Convocation

3:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Tickets required. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tracy Holloway, 325-1429 or tracyholloway@ou.edu.

Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation

6:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Gaylord Hall, 395 W. Lindsey St. Lyndsay Tabor, 325-5199 or lyndsaytabor@ou.edu.  

College of Law Convocation

10:30 a.m., Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker, Oklahoma City. Reception at 4 p.m. Friday, May 13, Sneed Lounge, College of Law, 300 W. Timberdell Rd. Jessica Jones, 325-2227 or Jessica.jones@ou.edu.  

College of Liberal Studies Convocation

6 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Missy Mitchell, 325-2823 or mjmitchell@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/cls/convocation.html.

College of Medicine Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, May 21, Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, same location. James F. Albertson, 271-2316 or james-albertson@ouhsc.edu.

Fran and Earl Ziegler College of Nursing Convocation

1:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Margaret A. Robinson, 271-2428, Ext. 49130, or margaret-a-robinson@ouhsc.edu; nursing.ouhsc.edu/current-students/graduation.cfm.

College of Pharmacy Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, June 4, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. Darla Puckett, 271-6598 or darla-puckett@ouhsc.edu.

College of Public Health Convocation

10 a.m., Embassy Suites OKC Downtown Medical Center, 741 N. Phillips Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following. Robin Howell, 271-2308 or robin-howell@ouhsc.edu.

OU-Tulsa Convocation

7 p.m., Tuesday, May 10, Donald W. Reynolds Center at the University of Tulsa, 3208 E 8th St., Tulsa. Tracy Kennedy, (918) 660-3316 or tkennedy@ou.edu.

Health Sciences Center Graduate College Convocation

2 p.m., David L. Boren Student Union, Room 170, 1106 N. Stonewall Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following at David L. Boren Lounge, Room 302. Karen Bentley, 271-2085 or karen-bentley@ouhsc.edu.

Receptions and Recognition Ceremonies

Advanced Programs Graduation Reception

Candidates will be recognized during the College of Arts and Sciences Convocation listed above as well as at site specific ceremonies. Joanne Braunbeck, 325-0133 or jbraunbeck@ou.edu.

African American Academic Achievement Celebration

4 p.m., Friday, May 13, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 560 Parrington Oval. Registration required. Lauren Whiteman, 325-3163 or lewhiteman@ou.edu; www.orgsync.com/118329/chapter

American Indian Academic Achievement Celebration

3:30 p.m., Friday, May 13, Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center, 624 Asp Ave. Breanna Faris, 325-3163 or farisbr10@ou.edu.

Honors College Graduation Breakfast

8 a.m., Saturday, May 14, David L. Boren Hall, 1300 Asp Ave. Tanya Miller, 325-8397 or maverickly@ou.edu.  

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation

3 p.m., Friday, May 13, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Lynne Levy, 325-6702 or lhlevy@ou.edu.

Student-Athlete Graduation Banquet

4 p.m., Friday, May 13, Chesapeake Energy Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Terri Moyer, 325-8397 or tmoyer@ou.edu.

Graduate College Reception

1 p.m., Friday, May 13, Stephenson Research and Technology Center, 120 David L. Boren Blvd. Diana Beal, 325-7715 or dbeal@ou.edu; gradweb.ou.edu.

Air Force ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

9:30 a.m., Friday, May 13, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, President’s Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tori Lamoureux, 325-3211 or torilammy@ou.edu.

Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

Noon, Friday, May 13, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following , ROTC Armory, 290 Brooks St. Howard Smith, 325-3012 or hsmith2@ou.edu.

Naval ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

10 a.m., Friday, May 13, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following in ROTC Armory, 290 Brooks St. Julie Dahlgren, 325-2021 or jdahlgren@ou.edu.

Student Veterans Association Graduation Celebration

10 a.m., Thursday, May 12, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Justin Cook, (514) 446-9260.

Recent News

OU Student Named Goldwater Scholar

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma honors student Matthew Peters has been named a 2018 Goldwater Scholar, placing OU in the top ranks of universities nationally with 53 Goldwater Scholars since the competition began in 1991. The prestigious scholarships are awarded on the basis of potential and intent to pursue research careers in mathematics, the natural sciences or engineering. Read more

OU to Hire Additional Clinical Psychologist

NORMAN—University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren announced Friday that adequate funding would be allocated to hire an additional psychologist at the University Counseling Center in order to further support mental health services for students and alleviate wait times. Read more

OU Radar Team Developing New Technologies for U.S. Navy Next-Generation Radar Systems

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma Advanced Radar Research Center team is developing new antenna and related technologies for U.S. Navy next-generation radar systems with a two-year, $3.5 million grant from the U.S. Department of Defense, Office of Naval Research. The ARRC research and development program under way is designed to improve the agility and multi-functionality of radio frequency sensors and communication systems, while enabling future implementation on a variety of surfaces and platforms. Read more

OU Faculty Member Appointed Chair of International Astronomical Union Working Group

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma professor, Steven Gullberg, has been appointed world chair for archeoastronomy by the International Astronomical Union. As chair, Gullberg will work with 31 nations to further the research and global advancement of archeoastronomy and astronomy in culture. Read more

OU Math Professors to Research Active Learning in Undergraduate Math Education

NORMAN –A University of Oklahoma mathematics professor, Milos Savic, has received a two-year, $93,298 grant from the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities to help undergraduate students pursuing science, technology, engineering and mathematics degrees succeed in introductory math courses. Savic and team will use the grant to improve and assess a recently-developed active learning pre-calculus course taught to 1,000 OU students each year.  Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

April 2018


For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or publicaffairs@ou.edu.