Skip Navigation

Randall Hewes Named Dean of OU Graduate College

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

Randall Hewes Named Dean of Graduate College

Randall Hewes


Norman – University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren today announced outstanding professor and effective faculty leader, Randall Hewes, who has been serving as interim dean of the Graduate College since July 2016, has been appointed to the position permanently. The appointment was announced at the September meeting of the OU Board of Regents in Tulsa.

“Randall Hewes is an outstanding leader,” said Boren. “The university is very fortunate that he is willing to serve as dean of the Graduate College.” 

Prior to being named interim dean, Hewes was senior associate dean in the Graduate College. Throughout his OU research, he has focused on the genetic and molecular pathways controlling neuronal remodeling during insect metamorphosis. He has investigated when and how mature neurons respond to insulin, steroids and other cues to reactivate and execute growth processes that are usually seen only in the embryo. He was an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral fellow from 1995 to 1997. His research has been supported by more than $3.9 million in grants for graduate education and neuroscience research from the National Science Foundation, National Institutes of Health, U.S. Department of Education and the Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology.

A member of the OU faculty for the past 16 years, Hewes has taught undergraduate courses in cell biology and cell/molecular neurobiology. Serving as chair of the Department of Biology from 2011 to 2015, he led a major revision of the department’s largest introductory biology lab course and launched the “Cornerstone Course” initiative with the goal of engaging all biology majors in research as a formal part of the curriculum. He has served as the major advisor for five doctoral students, and he has mentored more than 54 undergraduate students in research in his laboratory. Many of his former students have established successful careers in science and medicine. He has been recognized as the Kinney-Sugg Outstanding Professor in the OU College of Arts and Sciences.

Hewes served as chair of the Faculty Senate from 2014 to 2015, and he has served on the Admissions and Employee Benefits Committees, the Provost’s Graduate Education Task Force and the President's Graduation and Retention Task Force. In each of these roles, he has worked to advance academic initiatives and to improve professional support, career opportunities and community for students, faculty and staff.  

The Graduate College dean currently manages 26 professional staff in the Graduate College and Graduate Admissions and also oversees the Graduate Council, the representative policy-making body for the graduate faculty. In its daily operations, the Graduate College oversees graduate admissions, enrollment management and support service for more than 5,700 students in 88 master’s programs, 54 doctoral degree programs and 26 graduate certificates. The college confers annually more than 2,000 degrees, which comprises 34 percent of all OU graduates. The college also administers a $14.2 million graduate tuition waiver budget and awards over $550,000 annually in graduate student scholarships, fellowships and travel support.

Hewes graduated magna cum laude from Carleton College with a bachelor's degree in biology and went on to attend graduate school at the University of Washington in Seattle where he earned his Ph.D. He then served eight years as a postdoctoral fellow and research associate at the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.


Recent News

OU Student Receives Udall Scholarship

Daniel Hayden

NORMAN - University of Oklahoma honors student Daniel R. Hayden has been named a 2018 Udall Scholar. The Udall Foundation Scholarship recognizes undergraduate students who demonstrate a commitment to careers related to the environment or to Native American public policy or health care. Hayden is one of 50 nationwide selected for the honor. Read more

OU Professor to Receive IEEE Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award

Mohammed Atiquzzaman

Mohammed Atiquzzaman, is the recipient of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award for 2018. The annual award is given to an accomplished, senior-level researcher who has achieved outstanding results in satellite communications and recognizes excellent scientific contributions done by academia and industries. Atiquzzaman will receive the award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in Kansas City, Missouri, May 20-24. Read more

OU Physicist Developing Quantum-Enhanced Sensors for Real-Life Applications

Albert Marino

A University of Oklahoma physicist, Alberto M. Marino, is developing quantum-enhanced sensors that could find their way into applications ranging from biomedical to chemical detection. In a new study, Marino’s team, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, demonstrates the ability of quantum states of light to enhance the sensitivities of state-of-the-art plasmonic sensors. The team presents the first implementation of a sensor with sensitivities considered state-of-the-art and shows how quantum-enhanced sensing can find its way into real-life applications. Read more

OU Class of 2018 Gift to Honor Borens

The Boren Green

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma Class of 2018 will celebrate their time at OU through a dedicated green space that will add to OU’s national reputation as one of America’s most beautiful campuses. Located along Lindsey Street in front of the newly completed Residential Colleges, this year’s class gift will fund a picturesque lawn named The Boren Green. Read more

OU Students Receive National Security Education Program Award for International Study

The Boren Awards

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma senior James Ratcliff and OU junior Libby Trowbridge recently were selected as recipients of the prestigious Boren Award for International Study, sponsored by the National Security Education Program. Thirty-four OU students have received the award since the program began in 1994. Read more

OU-Led Research Team Accelerating Antibiotic Discovery

Zygurskaya and Rybenkov

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma professors, Helen Zgurskaya and Valentin Rybenkov, and team are addressing the challenge and critical need for new antibiotics that can fight infections caused by the multi-drug resistant bacterium, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, considered an urgent threat by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The OU team responded to a special request for applications from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, and received a five-year, $5.7 million grant to develop new, more effective approaches against Gram-negative bacteria that are protected by multi-drug efflux pumps and low-permeability membranes. Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

May 2018

April 2018

March 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or