Skip Navigation

OU Selects Inaugural Class for 2015-2016 Faculty Leadership Academy

OU Public Affairs Website
OU homepage Public Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

OU Selects Inaugural Class for 2015-2016 Faculty Leadership Academy

6-17-15

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NORMAN The University of Oklahoma has selected 45 participants for the inaugural class of the Norman campus Faculty Leadership Academy. The Academy will take place from August 2015 to May 2016 in a series of sessions held one Saturday each month. The goal of the Academy is to invest in faculty by helping them identify, enhance, create and continually utilize leadership capabilities that can be applied in many contexts.

“The Academy is unlike many traditional executive leadership programs as it is not geared to prepare faculty to move into specific leadership positions. Rather, it seeks to instill the much deeper notion of true leadership. The Academy does not end with the completion of the academic year-long experience, but in fact begins with it,” says OU Vice President for Research Kelvin Droegemeier.

Each session will be highly interactive, with the 45 fellows working in groups as a means of developing mutual support during and following the program of study. Academy fellows will build close working relationships that will aid them in applying leadership concepts in their daily work. The participants were selected through an application process and represent disciplines and colleges from the OU Norman and OU-Tulsa campuses. 

The Academy is guided by the following principles: (1) increase the ability of faculty to take bolder, more creative steps in scholarly programs, moving into endeavors that challenge them and their students in new and exciting ways and lead to important and transformative impacts on their discipline; (2) increase the ability of faculty to pursue and be successful when executing multi- or inter-disciplinary, large group, center-scale and multi-institutional scholarly activities; (3) prepare faculty for meeting unknown challenges and coping with unpredictable change, developing solutions when none exist; and (4) infuse leadership into instruction, advising, student experience and help create the next-generation of faculty and student leaders.

For more information, visit the OU Faculty Leadership Academy website at www.ou.edu/fla.html.

2015-2016 Faculty Leadership Academy Inaugural Class of Fellows
           
Last Name First Name College  Department/Division Rank/Title Email
College of Architecture 
Perrenoud Anthony Architecture Construction Science Assistant Professor perrenoud@ou.edu
Fithian Lee Architecture Architecture Associate Professor leefithian@ou.edu
Loon Leehu Architecture Landscape Architecture Associate Professor lloon@ou.edu
Holliday Lisa Architecture Construction Science Assistant Professor lisaholliday@ou.edu
College of Arts and Sciences
Stevenson Bradley Arts and Sciences Microbiology & Plant Biology Associate Professor bradley.stevenson@ou.edu
Santos Michael Arts and Sciences Physics & Astronomy Professor msantos@ou.edu
Siler Cameron Arts and Sciences Biology & SNMONH Assistant Professor camsiler@ou.edu
Reedy Justin Arts and Sciences Communication Assistant Professor jreedy@ou.edu
Bartley Laura Arts and Sciences Microbiology & Plant Biology Assistant Professor lbartley@ou.edu
Murphy Sheena Arts and Sciences Physics & Astronomy Associate Professor smurphy@ou.edu
del Guadalupe (Lupe) Davidson Maria Arts and Sciences WGS Assistant Professor mdavidson@ou.edu
Sanchez-Naranjo Jeannette Arts and Sciences MLLL Assistant Professor snaranjo@ou.edu
Duerfeldt Adam Arts and Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Assistant Professor adam.duerfeldt@ou.edu
Wawrik Boris Arts and Sciences Microbiology & Plant Biology Associate Professor bwawrik@ou.edu
Lewis Cecil Arts and Sciences Anthropology Associate Professor cmlewis@ou.edu
Sellers Ian Arts and Sciences Physics & Astronomy Assistant Professor sellers@ou.edu
Schlupp Ingo Arts and Sciences Biology Professor schlupp@ou.edu
Kelly Jeff Arts and Sciences Oklahoma Biological Survey and Biology Professor jkelly@ou.edu
Halterman Ronald Arts and Sciences Chemistry & Biochemistry Professor Rhalterman@ou.edu
College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences
Xue Ming Atmospheric & Geographic Sciences Meteorology Professor mxue@ou.edu
Wang Xuguang Atmospheric & Geographic Sciences Meteorology Associate Professor xuguang.wang@ou.edu
Smith Laurel Atmospheric & Geographic Sciences DGES Associate Professor laurel@ou.edu
Cavallo Steven Atmospheric & Geographic Sciences Meteorology Assistant Professor cavallo@ou.edu
Price College of Business
Jensen Matthew Price College of Business MIS Division/CASR Associate Professor mjensen@ou.edu
Bradley Bret Price College of Business Management & Entrepreneurship Associate Professor bret-bradley@ou.edu
College of Earth and Energy
Murray Kyle Earth & Energy Oklahoma Geological Survey Hydrogeologist kyle.murray@ou.edu
Rainbolt College of Education
Vargas Juanita Education Educational Leadership & Policy Studies Associate Professor jgvargas@ou.edu
Cullen Theresa Education Educational Psychology Associate Professor tacullen@ou.edu
College of Engineering
Cruz J.R. Engineering Electrical  and Computer Engineering Professor jcruz@ou.edu
Wang Naiyu Engineering Civil Engineering & Environmental Science Assistant Professor naiyu.wang@ou.edu
Yeary Mark Engineering Electrical  and Computer Engineering/ARRC/DSI Professor yeary@ou.edu
Liu Hong Engineering ECE Professor Liu@ou.edu
Volz Jeffery Engineering Civil Engineering & Environmental Science Associate Professor volz@ou.edu
Nairn Robert Engineering Civil Engineering & Environmental Science Professor nairn@ou.edu
Weitzenhoffer College of Fine Arts
Roan Mortimer Harold Fine Arts Music Associate Professor hrmortimer@ou.edu
Ellis Sarah Fine Arts Music Associate Professor sjr@ou.edu
Honors College
Ehrhardt Julia Honors College WGS affiliated faculty Associate Professor juliae@ou.edu
Tracy Sarah Honors College   Associate Professor swtracy@ou.edu
Gaylord College of Journalism
Loke Jaime Journalism Journalism Assistant Professor jaimeloke@ou.edu
Tsetsura Katerina Journalism Graduate Studies Associate Professor tsetsura@ou.edu
Beliveau Ralph Journalism Media Arts Associate Professor beliveau@ou.edu
College of Law 
Johnson Kit Law   Associate Professor kit.johnson@ou.edu
OU-Tulsa 
Johnson Chad OU Tulsa Human Relations Associate Professor cvjohnson@ou.edu
Lloyd-Jones Brenda Arts and Sciences Human Relations Associate Professor blloydjones@ou.edu
Provost Direct
Cusack George Provost-Direct Academic Engagement-Expository Writing Program Academic Director gcusack@ou.edu
College of International Studies 
Cruise Rebecca International Studies Internatinoal and Area Studies Assistant Professor and Assistant Dean rebeccajcruise@ou.edu

News Archives

2018  | 2017  | 2016  | 2015  |  2014 

2018


For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or publicaffairs@ou.edu.