Skip Navigation

OU Graduate Honored With Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship For New Americans

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

OU Graduate Honored With Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans

Caleb Gayle




NORMAN –University of Oklahoma graduate Caleb Gayle of Tulsa has earned a Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans, a graduate school fellowship for outstanding immigrants and children of immigrants in the United States. Gayle is the third Soros Fellow produced by OU in the past two years.

“Caleb Gayle was an outstanding graduate of the university," said OU President David L. Boren. "He made an impressive record at the university and continues his outstanding achievements after graduation. We are honored to count him as one of our own and the university is proud of his Soros Fellowship.”

Founded in 1997 by Hungarian immigrants Paul Soros and his wife Daisy, the fellowships focus on an applicant’s potential to make significant contributions to U.S. society, culture or their academic field. The award provides up to $90,000 in funding for each fellow’s graduate program of choice. This year marked the most competitive year in the fellowship’s history with 1,775 applicants and only 30 selected as fellows.

Gayle has worked with burgeoning, low-income female entrepreneurs in Mexico as part of Crea Comunidades de Emprendedores Sociales, a social enterprise that creates customized programs to empower women entrepreneurs from marginalized areas in Mexico.

He completed his graduate work at Oxford University and returned to Mexico, where he supported the elevation of Crea Comunidades to become a federal government program, Mujeres Moviendo México.

Gayle joined the George Kaiser Family Foundation in 2013, working to improve the livelihood outcomes of low-income families and children. His team’s work has been chronicled in The New York Times, The Atlantic, and Education Week.

Managing editor of Crimson & Black: A Journal for Black Policy, his essays have been featured in The Huffington Post’s Black Voices series, The Chronicle of Philanthropy, and the Harvard Kennedy School Review.

“At a time when the national conversation seems to be on what immigrants are taking away, we are putting the spotlight on what immigrants from diverse backgrounds contribute to the United States,” said Craig Harwood, director of the fellowship program.

For his outstanding achievements, Gayle previously has been recognized as a Rotary Ambassadorial Scholar, Harry S. Truman Scholar and Sheila C. Johnson Leadership Fellow at the Harvard Kennedy School’s Center for Public Leadership.

Born in New York to Jamaican immigrants, Gayle and his family initially struggled to prosper after moving to Tulsa, Oklahoma. Through his personal experience and tenacious pursuit of the American Dream, Gayle developed an interest in non-profit work and government affairs. He has served on the boards of the Tulsa Day Center for the Homeless, the Tulsa Area Salvation Army and the MetCares Foundation.

Previous recipients of the Soros Fellowships for New Americans include U.S. Surgeon General Vivek Murthy, Chief Scientist of Artificial Intelligence at GoogleCloud Fei-Fei Li, pharmaceutical CEO Vivek Ramaswamy, Lieutenant Governor of Washington Cyrus Habib, leading American Civil Liberties Union attorney Nusrat Choudhury, award-winning writer Kao Kalia Yang and nearly 600 other immigrant-American leaders.

At 30 years of age or younger, the members of the 2017 class of Soros Fellowships come from a wide range of socio-economic background. Either naturalized citizens, green card holders or the children of immigrants, their cultural backgrounds are similar to those of recent immigrants and refugees in the U.S. This year’s class of Soros Fellows include heritage from: Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Colombia, Guyana, India, Iran, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Poland, Russia, South Korea, Suriname, Taiwan, Venezuela and Vietnam.

Recent News

OU Student Receives Udall Scholarship

Daniel Hayden

NORMAN - University of Oklahoma honors student Daniel R. Hayden has been named a 2018 Udall Scholar. The Udall Foundation Scholarship recognizes undergraduate students who demonstrate a commitment to careers related to the environment or to Native American public policy or health care. Hayden is one of 50 nationwide selected for the honor. Read more

OU Professor to Receive IEEE Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award

Mohammed Atiquzzaman

Mohammed Atiquzzaman, is the recipient of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award for 2018. The annual award is given to an accomplished, senior-level researcher who has achieved outstanding results in satellite communications and recognizes excellent scientific contributions done by academia and industries. Atiquzzaman will receive the award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in Kansas City, Missouri, May 20-24. Read more

OU Physicist Developing Quantum-Enhanced Sensors for Real-Life Applications

Albert Marino

A University of Oklahoma physicist, Alberto M. Marino, is developing quantum-enhanced sensors that could find their way into applications ranging from biomedical to chemical detection. In a new study, Marino’s team, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, demonstrates the ability of quantum states of light to enhance the sensitivities of state-of-the-art plasmonic sensors. The team presents the first implementation of a sensor with sensitivities considered state-of-the-art and shows how quantum-enhanced sensing can find its way into real-life applications. Read more

OU Class of 2018 Gift to Honor Borens

The Boren Green

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma Class of 2018 will celebrate their time at OU through a dedicated green space that will add to OU’s national reputation as one of America’s most beautiful campuses. Located along Lindsey Street in front of the newly completed Residential Colleges, this year’s class gift will fund a picturesque lawn named The Boren Green. Read more

OU Students Receive National Security Education Program Award for International Study

The Boren Awards

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma senior James Ratcliff and OU junior Libby Trowbridge recently were selected as recipients of the prestigious Boren Award for International Study, sponsored by the National Security Education Program. Thirty-four OU students have received the award since the program began in 1994. Read more

OU-Led Research Team Accelerating Antibiotic Discovery

Zygurskaya and Rybenkov

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma professors, Helen Zgurskaya and Valentin Rybenkov, and team are addressing the challenge and critical need for new antibiotics that can fight infections caused by the multi-drug resistant bacterium, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, considered an urgent threat by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The OU team responded to a special request for applications from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, and received a five-year, $5.7 million grant to develop new, more effective approaches against Gram-negative bacteria that are protected by multi-drug efflux pumps and low-permeability membranes. Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

May 2018

April 2018

March 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or