Skip Navigation

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

OU Public Affairs Website
OU homepage Public Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

University of Oklahoma Announces College Convocations and Commencements

5-5-15

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma has announced its individual college convocations and other end-of-year academic ceremonies.

OU previously announced that Elizabeth Garrett, an OU graduate who will become the first woman president of Cornell University on July 1, will deliver OU’s university-wide Commencement address on Friday, May 8. Garrett also will receive an honorary degree at the 7 p.m. ceremony in The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St.

Commencement is the ceremony where degrees are officially conferred. Filled with pageantry, it is the time for all 2014-15 graduates to celebrate the culmination of their time at OU. Doctoral degree candidates are recognized individually during this time.

At the college convocations, all other graduates will be recognized individually, have their pictures taken and their diplomas presented by their dean. Unless otherwise noted, all convocations will be held Saturday, May 9. Some events require tickets and/or have participation guidelines; for details and the most up-to-date information, please visit the Commencement website.

College of Allied Health Convocation
7 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 W. Brooks St. Reception set before the ceremony, at 4:30 p.m., Chesapeake Energy Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. Paije Fauser, 271-6588 or paije-fauser@ouhsc.edu; www.ah.ouhsc.edu/main/graduation.asp.

College of Architecture Convocation
3 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center, 500 W. Boyd St. Reception immediately following, Buskuhl Gallery, 130 Gould Hall, 830 Van Vleet Oval. Tori Collier, 325-6102 or tcollier@ou.edu.

College of Arts and Sciences Convocation
10 a.m., Lloyd Noble Center, 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. Kristi Morgan, 325-2347 or kcain@ou.edu; cas.ou.edu/may-convocation-instructions.

College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences Convocation
8 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Reception at 4 p.m. Friday, May 8, Sam Noble Museum, 2401 Chautauqua Ave. Mona Springfield, 325-1819 or mspringfield@ou.edu.

Aviation Undergraduate Programs
Candidates will be recognized during the Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation listed below. Informal reception for Aviation Graduates and their guests to be held immediately prior, from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Max Westheimer Airport, 1700 Lexington St. Shelly Ainsworth, 325-7231 or sainsworth@ou.edu.

Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation
1:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Energy Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. Taylor Heatly, 325-4386 or theatly@ou.edu.

College of Dentistry Commencement
2 p.m., First United Methodist Church, 131 NW 4th St., Oklahoma City. Carla Lawson, 271-5444 or carla-lawson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Convocation
10 a.m., First United Methodist Church, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, same location. Kristy Jurko, 271-4435 or kristy-jurko@ouhsc.edu.

Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy Convocation
1 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union, 900 Asp Ave. Liz Ehrhardt, 325-4005 or lehrhardt@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/content/mcee/undergrad_studentservices/graduation_information.html.

Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education Convocation
10 a.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Collings Hall, 820 Van Vleet Oval. Barbi DeLong, 325-2357 or bdelong@ou.edu.

College of Engineering Convocation
4:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Energy Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. Corinne Maag, 325-1069 or cmaag@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/coe/wssc/grad_convocation.html.

Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Convocation
9:30 a.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Jane Custar, 325-7370 or janecustar@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/content/finearts/graduation.html.

College of International Studies Convocation
5:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tracy Holloway, 325-1429 or tracyholloway@ou.edu.

Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation
3:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Gaylord Hall, 395 W. Lindsey St. Erin Day, 325-5199 or erinday@ou.edu.

College of Law Convocation
10:30 a.m., First Southern Baptist Church, 6400 S. Sooner Road, Oklahoma City. Reception at 4 p.m. Friday, May 8, Sneed Lounge, College of Law, 300 W. Timberdell Road. Stacey Reynolds, 325-1726 or sreynolds@ou.edu.

College of Liberal Studies Convocation
12:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Missy Mitchell, 325-2823 or mjmitchell@ou.edu; www.ou.edu/cls/convocation.html.

College of Medicine Commencement
10 a.m., Saturday, May 30, Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, same location. James F. Albertson, 271-2316 or james-albertson@ouhsc.edu.

College of Nursing Convocation
7:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Margaret A. Robinson, 271-2428, Ext. 49130, or margaret-a-robinson@ouhsc.edu; nursing.ouhsc.edu/current-students/graduation.cfm.

College of Pharmacy Commencement
10 a.m., Saturday, June 6, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. Darla Puckett, 271-6598 or darla-puckett@ouhsc.edu.

College of Public Health Convocation
2 p.m., Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Robin Howell, 271-2308 or robin-howell@ouhsc.edu.

OU-Tulsa Convocation
7 p.m., Tuesday, May 5, Donald W. Reynolds Center at the University of Tulsa, 3208 E 8th St., Tulsa. Tracy Kennedy, (918) 660-3316 or tkennedy@ou.edu.

Health Sciences Center Graduate College Convocation
2 p.m., David L. Boren Student Union, Room 170, 1106 N. Stonewall Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, Robert M. Bird Library, 1000 Stanton L. Young Blvd. Karen Bentley, 271-2085 or karen-bentley@ouhsc.edu.

 

Receptions and Recognition Ceremonies

Advanced Programs Graduation Reception
3 p.m., Friday, May 8, Conference Room A, Thurman J. White Forum Building, 1704 Asp Ave. Joanne Braunbeck, 325-0133 or jbraunbeck@ou.edu.

African American Academic Achievement Celebration
3:30 p.m., Friday, May 8, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 560 Parrington Oval. Reception immediately following, Frontier Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Brandon Oldham, 325-3163 or oldham@ou.edu.

American Indian Academic Achievement Celebration
3:30 p.m., Friday, May 8, Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center, 1620 Asp Ave. Reception immediately following, same location. Lindy Waters, 325-1468 or lwaters@ou.edu.

Honors College Graduation Breakfast
8 a.m., Saturday, May 9, David L. Boren Hall, 1300 Asp Ave. Lisa Tucker, 325-9088 or ljtucker@ou.edu.

Phi Beta Kappa Initiation
3 p.m., Friday, May 8, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Lynne Levy, 325-6702 or lhlevy@ou.edu.

Student-Athlete Graduation Banquet
4 p.m., Friday, May 8, Chesapeake Energy Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Terry Moyer, 325-8397 or tmoyer@ou.edu.

Graduate College Reception
1 p.m., Friday, May 8, National Weather Center, 120 David L. Boren Blvd. Clay Wesley, 325-0797 or claywesley@ou.edu; gradweb.ou.edu.

Air Force ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
Noon, Friday, May 8, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, President’s Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Tori Lamoureux, 325-3211 or torilammy@ou.edu.

Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
8:30 a.m., Friday, May 8, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Margie Brown, 325-0326 or margie.a.brown-1@ou.edu.

Naval ROTC Commissioning Ceremony
10 a.m., Friday, May 8, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following. Julie Dahlgren, 325-2021 or jdahlgren@ou.edu.

News Archives

2018  | 2017  | 2016  | 2015  |  2014 

2018


For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or publicaffairs@ou.edu.