Skip Navigation

Dean Mcgee Eye Institute Ranked Among Nation’s Top Ophthalmology Programs

OU Public Affairs Website
OU homepage Public Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation
Dean Mcgee Eye Institute Ranked Among Nation’s Top Ophthalmology Programs


OKLAHOMA CITY – For the first time, the Dean McGee Eye Institute (DMEI) has been ranked one of the top three eye institutes in the nation by Ophthalmology Times’ Best Programs Survey.  The Oklahoma City-based institute, which also serves as the University of Oklahoma Department of Ophthalmology, is listed as the publication’s third Best Overall Program behind the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute at the University of Miami and the Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins University.   

The publication also ranked  DMEI second for the quality of its clinical care and residency teaching programs and fifth for the caliber of its research program.

“This ranking points to our growing national reputation for exceptional clinical care, outstanding educational opportunities,  and leading-edge research.  In large measure, this national recognition is a testament to the  visionary leaders in the field of ophthalmology at the Dean McGee Eye Institute over the past four-plus decades. Most important, the national ranking speaks  to the incredible work of our dedicated faculty, staff, and researchers,” said Dr. Gregory Skuta, President and CEO of the Dean McGee Eye Institute, Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair, and Regents’ Professor of the OU College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology. “Our ambition has always been to assemble the finest physicians, create an environment to explore new boundaries of discovery, attract and teach aspiring students, residents, and fellows,  and deliver excellent eye care to the people of Oklahoma and beyond.”

Ophthalmology Times surveyed chairpersons and residency program directors of ophthalmology programs across the country to determine this year’s ranking of top national programs.

In an interview with Ophthalmology Times, Dr. Skuta acknowledged the work of vice chair and residency program director R. Michael Siatkowski, MD to enhance the DMEI  educational experience and academic productivity as well as  develop a microsurgical education center and a Visiting Professor Program. As DMEI’s director of vision research, Dr. Robert  Anderson has assembled a team of scientists that has transformed vision research in the institute and across the medical campus with far-reaching impact.

Dr. Skuta also noted that four past or current members of the faculty have served as president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology from 2007 to 2017, including Dr. Skuta in 2014 and Cynthia A. Bradford, MD, currently.

“We have a national gem in DMEI in Oklahoma as underscored by this recent national recognition,” said David Rainbolt, Dean McGee Eye Institute Board of Trustees Chair.  “Our physicians and researchers are tackling complex eye diseases while at the same time providing routine and specialty eye care to Oklahomans across the state as well as throughout this region of the country.  We congratulate Dr. Skuta and the excellent faculty, staff, and researchers at DMEI for this national honor in recognition of their tremendous efforts.”

In 2011, the Dean McGee Eye Institute opened an expanded world-class clinical and research center in Oklahoma City.  The 148,000-square-foot center unified the clinical specialties and research disciplines in one facility. In recent years the institute expanded its international eye care  program with a focus on China and Africa.  The institute’s residency and fellowship programs attract top candidates from across the country.  The research program is a leader in funding from the National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health and from Research to Prevent Blindess.

About the Dean McGee Eye Institute

The Dean McGee Eye Institute is dedicated to serving all Oklahomans and the global community through excellence and leadership in patient care, education and vision research.  It is one of the largest and most respected centers for medical and surgical eye care in the United States and houses the Department of Ophthalmology for the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine. Its research and training programs are among the most highly regarded in the country.  Twenty-two of the Institute’s ophthalmologists are listed in the Best Doctors in America and/or Castle Connolly’s Top Doctors; its Director of Vision Research is a Past President of the International Society for Eye Research, Past Vice President of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO)  and a recipient of  ARVO’s prestigious Proctor Medal; two members of the faculty are recent  directors of the American Board of Ophthalmology; three serve or have recently served on the Board of Trustees of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO); one was Vice Chair of the Residency Review Committee in Ophthalmology for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education; one is President-Elect of the AAO; and another is a Past President of the AAO and  Past President of the American Glaucoma Society.   For more information, visit


2018 News Archives








March 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or

News Archives

2018  | 2017  | 2016  | 2015  |  2014 


For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or