Skip Navigation

OU Wins Davis Cup for Fifth Consecutive Year

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation
OU President David L. Boren and Davis UWC Scholars Program Cofounders Shelby Davis and Phil Geier are pictured with UWC Scholars in front of the Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art.


NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma is being awarded the prestigious Davis Cup for the fifth consecutive year in recognition of its record-setting enrollment of United World College international freshmen. OU is the only public university in the nation to ever be awarded the Davis Cup and also has the largest total enrollment of Davis United World College Scholars in the United States. This year’s freshman class includes 63 Davis UWC Scholars, a new OU record.

“The University of Oklahoma has been greatly benefitted from having some of the most gifted students in the world become members of the OU family,” said OU President David L. Boren.

“We congratulate the University of Oklahoma for once again winning the Davis Cup by matriculating the largest number of new scholars from around the world,” wrote Shelby Davis and Phil Geier, co-founders of the Davis UWC Scholars Program. “Doing so for five consecutive years clearly demonstrates how committed Oklahoma is to promoting international understanding through education. We are especially proud of President Boren for his leadership in making Oklahoma the premier partner school among our 95 colleges and universities nationwide.”

OU is among other Davis UWC Scholars Program partner colleges and universities in the United States, including Yale; Princeton; Brown; the universities of North Carolina, Virginia and Michigan; Duke; Columbia; and MIT. OU has 212 Davis UWC Scholars currently enrolled representing more than 79 countries and 15 of the 17 United World College campuses worldwide.

“I could never have imagined there would be over 200 Davis Scholars enrolled at OU after welcoming our first class of four UWC students in fall 2008,” said Craig Hayes, director of the OU Davis UWC Scholars Program. “These scholars from across the globe have added greatly to the fabric of the OU family, and I am exceedingly proud of the warm welcome and generous hospitality my alma mater has extended to them throughout the years. My life has been enriched significantly by interacting with our Davis Scholars.”

As the largest scholarship program for undergraduate students in the world, students are selected from around the globe to attend their United World College, where they finish their last two years of secondary education. Students participate in a rigorous International Baccalaureate curriculum employed with all-English instruction.

A diverse international student population exists at each of the now 17 UWCs worldwide, including countries such as Hong Kong, India, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore and Swaziland to name a few. No more than 25 percent of the students at each school can be from the country where the school is located.

United World College was founded in 1962 with the vision of bringing together young people, whose experience was of the political conflict of the cold war era, offering an educational experience based on shared learning, collaboration and understanding so that the students would act as champions of peace. A UWC education instills in its students outstanding academic abilities and a proven capacity to build relationships with people from a variety of backgrounds.

Davis UWC Scholars have earned a reputation of not only being outstanding students but exceptional members of the university community as well. Since 2008, when OU enrolled its first UWC scholars, these students have achieved recognition as members of the President’s Leadership Class, President’s Community Scholars and as Outstanding Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors. They have served in a variety of leadership roles, including as Ronnie K. Irani Center for the Creation of Economic Wealth team leaders, International Advisory Committee executive officers and resident advisers.

Recent News

OU Student Receives Udall Scholarship

Daniel Hayden

NORMAN - University of Oklahoma honors student Daniel R. Hayden has been named a 2018 Udall Scholar. The Udall Foundation Scholarship recognizes undergraduate students who demonstrate a commitment to careers related to the environment or to Native American public policy or health care. Hayden is one of 50 nationwide selected for the honor. Read more

OU Professor to Receive IEEE Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award

Mohammed Atiquzzaman

Mohammed Atiquzzaman, is the recipient of the prestigious Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Satellite Communications Technical Contribution Award for 2018. The annual award is given to an accomplished, senior-level researcher who has achieved outstanding results in satellite communications and recognizes excellent scientific contributions done by academia and industries. Atiquzzaman will receive the award at the IEEE International Conference on Communications in Kansas City, Missouri, May 20-24. Read more

OU Physicist Developing Quantum-Enhanced Sensors for Real-Life Applications

Albert Marino

A University of Oklahoma physicist, Alberto M. Marino, is developing quantum-enhanced sensors that could find their way into applications ranging from biomedical to chemical detection. In a new study, Marino’s team, in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, demonstrates the ability of quantum states of light to enhance the sensitivities of state-of-the-art plasmonic sensors. The team presents the first implementation of a sensor with sensitivities considered state-of-the-art and shows how quantum-enhanced sensing can find its way into real-life applications. Read more

OU Class of 2018 Gift to Honor Borens

The Boren Green

NORMAN – The University of Oklahoma Class of 2018 will celebrate their time at OU through a dedicated green space that will add to OU’s national reputation as one of America’s most beautiful campuses. Located along Lindsey Street in front of the newly completed Residential Colleges, this year’s class gift will fund a picturesque lawn named The Boren Green. Read more

OU Students Receive National Security Education Program Award for International Study

The Boren Awards

NORMAN – University of Oklahoma senior James Ratcliff and OU junior Libby Trowbridge recently were selected as recipients of the prestigious Boren Award for International Study, sponsored by the National Security Education Program. Thirty-four OU students have received the award since the program began in 1994. Read more

OU-Led Research Team Accelerating Antibiotic Discovery

Zygurskaya and Rybenkov

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma professors, Helen Zgurskaya and Valentin Rybenkov, and team are addressing the challenge and critical need for new antibiotics that can fight infections caused by the multi-drug resistant bacterium, Pseudomonas aeruginosa, considered an urgent threat by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The OU team responded to a special request for applications from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, National Institutes of Health, and received a five-year, $5.7 million grant to develop new, more effective approaches against Gram-negative bacteria that are protected by multi-drug efflux pumps and low-permeability membranes. Read more

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

May 2018

April 2018

March 2018

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or

2017 News Archives

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or