Skip Navigation


Skip Side Navigation

TE-PLUS Teacher Certification Program

Teacher Education – Professionalism, Leadership, Understanding, and Scholarship.

All University of Oklahoma Professional Education programs are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability (OEQA).

The TE-PLUS Framework

The teacher education program at OU is organized around the TE-PLUS framework - Teacher Education: Professionalism, Leadership, Understanding, Scholarship.  The elements of the TE-PLUS framework are explained below.

Click here to learn more about TE-PLUS (PDF).

InTASC Model Core Teaching Standards

The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO), through its Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC), offers this set of model core teaching standards that outline what teachers should know and be able to do to ensure every K-12 student reaches the goal of being ready to enter college or the workforce in today’s world. These standards outline the common principles and foundations of teaching practice that cut across all subject areas and grade levels and that are necessary to improve student achievement.

More importantly, these Model Core Teaching Standards articulate what effective teaching and learning looks like in a transformed public education system – one that empowers every learner to take ownership of their learning, that emphasizes the learning of content and application of knowledge and skill to real world problems, that values the differences each learner brings to the learning experience, and that leverages rapidly changing learning environments by recognizing the possibilities they bring to maximize learning and engage learners. A transformed public education system requires a new vision of teaching.

Click here for more information about the InTASC Standards.  Click here for more information about InTASC-based teacher learning progressions.