Skip Navigation

Top Donors Recognized for Commitment to OU

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation

Top Donors Recognized for Commitment to OU



NORMAN – University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren today inducted new members into the Seed Sower Society, a distinguished group of donors whose gifts to the University each total $1 million or more. As a group, these donors have provided support totaling $6 million.

“Members of the Seed Sower Society demonstrate a commitment and passion for supporting OU in all areas,” Boren said. “Much like OU’s first president, David Ross Boyd, who planted the seeds of excellence for future generations of Sooners, these special donors play a leadership role in enhancing the University’s academic mission.”

During a special ceremony at the regular meeting of the OU Board of Regents in June, donors were presented with a personalized sculpture designed by OU artist-in-residence Paul Moore and that bears the resemblance of David Ross Boyd as depicted on the University seal. The sculpture represents the donor’s dedication to planting seeds of excellence for future generations of OU students.

Among those inducted were: Louise and Clay Bennett of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Elizabeth and Donald Halverstadt, M.D., of Edmond, Oklahoma; Caroline and Guy Patton of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; and Roger and the late Sherry Teigen of Norman, Oklahoma.

“It is important to us that students who enroll at OU in the years to come have access to the same world-class resources that were available when we attended,” said Caroline and Guy Patton, who both earned degrees from OU. “It is a privilege to give back to the University that first gave us so much.” The Pattons have supported several areas on the Norman campus including the Price College of Business and Bizzell Memorial Library.

The donors recognized have given to colleges and departments on all three campuses and have established funds for undergraduate scholarships, graduate fellowships, OU Libraries support, the fine arts and OU Athletics programs, among many others.

Recent News

OU Top College For Latino Students

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma has been named a top 50 best college for Latino students by Latino Leaders, a magazine dedicated to connecting and inspiring future leaders. Read More

Dr. Gessouroun New Pediatrics Chairman

OKLAHOMA CITY – A longtime faculty member and chief of pediatric critical care at the University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Morris R.Gessouroun, M.D., has been named chairman of the college’s department of pediatrics.  Read More

OU Receives Major Gift In Support Of College Of Architecture

OKLAHOMA CITY – University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren today announced a leadership gift to the university from Christopher C. Gibbs in support of the College of Architecture. Read More

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or