Skip Navigation

Deaton Designated as Society of Research Administrators International Distinguished Faculty

OU Public Affairs WebsiteOU homepagePublic Affairs homepage
Skip Side Navigation
Andrea Deaton

Deaton Designated as Society of Research Administrators International Distinguished Faculty

NORMAN – A University of Oklahoma administrator, Andrea Deaton, has been designated as a Society of Research Administrators International Distinguished Faculty by the SRA Board of Directors. Deaton is receiving the coveted designation as a result of continually distinguishing herself as an exemplary teacher, scholar and practitioner in the field of research management and administration. She serves as associate vice president for research and is the executive director of the Office of Research Services on the Norman campus.

“Andrea Deaton is among the most elite tier of research administration leaders in the United States and provides incredible leadership at OU. I constantly receive emails extolling the great work provided by her and her staff in helping faculty with their grant proposals, negotiations and awards. I know of no one more deserving of this honor than Andrea,” said Kelvin Droegemeier, vice president for research on the Norman campus.

SRA will recognize Deaton on October 17, 2017, during the SRA International Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada. As a distinguished faculty, Deaton is considered an expert consultant and speaker and may be called upon to present and review professional workshops, continuing education courses and professional development programs on behalf of the SRA. She also may be asked to contribute to external, periodic and professional reviews of research management/administration capacity and processes.

SRA International Distinguished Faculty are named for an initial period of three years, which is renewable. Deaton’s term will expire on October 1, 2020. Applicants for renewal must complete an application and demonstrate an on-going commitment to the profession. There are no term limits; however, renewal is not automatic. Distinguished Faculty are expected to work on an SRA International subcommittee, serve as a mentor and/or participate on the Speaker’s Bureau.

Deaton received her master’s degree in Human Relations from OU and is a Certified Research Administrator. She has been an active member of SRA International since 2003, serving on various committees and presenting frequently for the organization. Serving as the university’s administrative representative to the Federal Demonstration Partnership, she also serves on various committees within the organization. Deaton has dedicated nearly 23 years at OU and has been in the Office of Research Services within the Office of the Vice President for Research for 17 years.

# # #


Recent News

OU Norman Campus to Close For Maintenance March 19-20

NORMAN - Due to a request by OG&E to perform significant electrical maintenance work, the Norman campus of the University of Oklahoma will close on Monday, March 19 and Tuesday, March 20, 2018. Read more

OU to Host Fifth Annual Conference for First-Generation and Minority Students

NORMAN – The Office of University Community at the University of Oklahoma will host its fifth annual George McLaurin and Sylvia A. Lewis Leadership Conference, a program aimed at connecting OU with talented first-generation and minority students. Read more

OU Board of Regents Elects Bennett, Rainbolt-Forbes as Officers

NORMAN — Clayton I. Bennett of Oklahoma City has been re-elected as chairman of the University of Oklahoma Board of Regents and Leslie Rainbolt-Forbes, M.D., has been re-elected as vice chairman of the board. Read more

James Pappas Admin Building Dedicated

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma today dedicated the James P. Pappas University Outreach Administration Building located at 1700 Asp Ave.  Read more

Dean Rick Luce Announces Plans to Retire

NORMAN – Following a long and distinguished career in libraries, Rick Luce, University of Oklahoma Libraries’ dean, professor and Peggy V. Helmerich chair, and associate vice president for research, is announcing his retirement, effective July 1, 2018. Read more

Drama School Alumna Earns Recognition

NORMAN — Paige Hathaway, 2011 graduate of the bachelor of fine arts scenic design program in the University of Oklahoma Helmerich School of Drama, earned the 2018 Rising Star Award, presentedby the United States Institute for Theatre Technology. The Rising Star Award, established by LDI and Live Design Magazine, recognizes excellence and artistic achievement in the areas of scenic, lighting, sound and projection design, or the convergence of these design disciplines. Read More

OU Residential Colleges Recognized As Outstanding Development Project

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma’s Residential Colleges recently won the “Large Scale Development” category in the Urban Land Institute Oklahoma’s fourth annual Impact Awards held at the Tower Theater in Oklahoma City.   Read More

OU Professor Elected as Fellow of Ecological Society of America

NORMAN —A University of Oklahoma professor, Jizhong Zhou, has been elected as a 2018 Fellow of the Ecological Society of America for outstanding accomplishments in environmental genomics and microbial ecology. Zhou and other ESA fellows will be recognized during the society’s annual meeting in New Orleans, Aug. 5-10. Read More

News Archives

2017  | 2016  | 2015  | 2014  |  2013  

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or

2017 News Archives

For requests for past releases, please contact OU Public Affairs at (405) 325-1701 or