Skip Navigation
Gallogly College of Engineering wordmarkOU homepageGallogly College of Engineering website

Competitive Student Teams

The Rawl Engineering Practice Facility provides students with a facility that fosters collaboration, providing all the tools required to bring an idea from concept to finished product. Teams work side-by-side in open bays where classroom knowledge becomes practical experience. Students that choose to work on a team learn how to collaborate, create, compete and win.  A list of these events can be found on the left side of this page underneath the navigation window and on the Experience Engineering Facebook Page.

Chem-E Car

Chem Car

Captain: Patrick Stevens
Email: patrick.g.stevens-1@ou.edu

Advisor: Dr. Paul Huang
Email: hll@ou.edu

Students design, build and test a small car powered by a specific chemical reaction and calibrated to carry a certain volume of water a specified distance.

Concrete Canoe

Concrete Canoe Team

Co-Captain: Kristen Hayden
Email: kristen.hayden@ou.edu

Co-Captain: Rachel Wesson
Email: rlwesson@gmail.com

Advisor: Dr. Chris Ramseyer
Email: ramseyer@ou.edu

The team enters a canoe in the National Concrete Canoe Competition each year, where they design, build, document, present and race their canoe.

Crimson Skies Design/Build/Fly

Crimson Skies Design/Build/Fly Team

Co-Captain: Kevin Murray
Email: Kevin.S.Murray-1@ou.edu

Co-Captain: Christine Greve
Email: Christine.M.Greve-1@ou.edu

Advisor: Thomas Hays
Email: thays@ou.edu

The team competes in an international engineering competition to develop an unmanned aerial system that is required to complete a series of missions, which vary from year to year.

 

Sooner Competitive Robotics

Three students in the Sooner Competitive Robotics Team

President: Cullen Clark
Email: cullenclark@ou.edu

Advisor: Dr. Chad Davis
Email: weeb@ou.edu

Sooner Competitive Robotics teams include the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Region 5 Robot, Mercury Remote Robot, Amercian Society for Engineering Education Two-Year, and KISS Institute for Practical Robotics Open and Aerial.
Learn more about SCR

Sooner Electric Racing

Sooner Electric Go-Kart Rounds a Corner during a Race

Captain: Andrew Meyer
Email: andrew.meyer49@ou.edu

Advisor: Dr. John Dyer
Email: jwdyer@ou.edu

The EV Grand Prix team works to research, design and develop electric vehicles to compete in a variety of races. Competitions take place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
Learn more about SER

 

Sooner Off Road

The Sooner Off Road vehicle on a race

Captain: Gatlin Arnold
Email: gatlin.d.arnold@ou.edu

Advisor: Christopher Dalton
Email: cdalton@ou.edu

Sooner Off Road is a relatively new team that is in its third year of competition. The team attended two national and international SAE Baja competitions with more than 100 entered teams in each.

Sooner Powered Vehicle

The Sooner Powered Vehicle

Captain: Cameron Heeren 
Email:camheeren@ou.edu

Advisor: Dr. Kim Wolfinbarger
Email: kimw@ou.edu

The Sooner Powered Vehicle team designs, constructs and tests a vehicle for the National Americal Society of Mechanical Engineers Human Powered Vehicle competition each year. Teams engineer fast, agile, safe and innovative vehicles to compete in design, sprint, utility and endurance categories. 

Sooner Racing Team

Sooner Racing Team Car

Co-Captain: Wesley Reynolds                                                    Email: wreynolds@ou.edu

Co-Captain: Samuel Faux                                                         Email: samfaux@ou.edu

 Advisor: Dr. Zahed Siddique
 Email: zsiddique@ou.edu

OU engineering students have designed a Formula-style race car every year since 1995, garnering numerous awards for design and performance. The team is consistently ranked among the top 10 in the world and top five in the United States.
Learn more about SRT

Sooner Rocket Team

Rocket Team

Captain: Dane Scholeon
Email: charles.w.osborn-1@ou.edu
Connect on Facebook

Advisor: Dr. David Miller
Email: dpmiller@ou.edu

The Sooner Rocket Team does research, design, and developing of High-powered rockets for the purpose of competing against other universities. We do tasks such as programming, fiberglassing, testing of chemicals, etc.. Competitions take place nationally.

 

 

 

Sooner Rover Team

Sooner Rover Team

Co-Captain: Dane Schoelen                                             

Co-Captain: Ashley Findley                                                      
Email: afinds@ou.edu

 Advisor: Dr. David Miller
 Email: dpmiller@ou.edu

The Sooner Rover Team, founded in 2015, initially competed for the National Institute of Aerospace RASC-AL Robo-Ops competition in Houston, which they won in 2016. The team continues to compete in the annual Mars Society's University Rover Challenge. 

Learn more about Sooner Rover Team

Steel Bridge

Steel Bridge

Captain: Chase Angier
Email: ou.steel.bridge@gmail.com

Advisor: Dr. Chris Ramseyer
Email: ramseyer@ou.edu

The Steel Bridge Team designs, fabricates, and constructs a 1:10 scaled steel bridge to compete in the National Student Steel Bridge Competition.

 

 

 

Jimmy Cannon

Engineering Practice Coordinator

Jimmy Cannon

Phone: (405) 325-6844

 

Email: jimmyray@ou.edu