Skip Navigation

Bias Reporting

Office of University Community, The University of Oklahoma website wordmark
Skip Side Navigation

Bias Response Committee

The purpose of the Bias Response Committee (BRC) is to evaluate and deliberate on bias and discrimination reports that are received through the 24hr hotline or are reported through other campus protocol. The BRC will review and provide guidance to Office of University Community and other collaborating units on how to deal with specific incident reports as well serve as an advisory body on education and awareness on inclusive environments in and outside the classroom. 

The University of Oklahoma is committed to building a welcoming and supportive campus environment where each individual feel welcomed, valued, and supported for success


BRC Members

Dr. Heather Shotton, Associate Professor Native American Studies
Dianne Brittingham, Director of Residence Life
Dr. Ben Keppel, Professor, Department of History
Dr. Sherri Irvin, Associate Dean of the Graduate College
Quy Nguyen, Senior Associate Director, Student Life
Elizabeth Woollen- Chief of Police, OUPD

Office of University Community Staff

Dr. Jane Irungu, Interim Associate Vice President- Convener
Monique Ramirez, Director of Student Engagement & Experience - Chair
Carrie McClain- Assistant Vice President, Office of University Community -HSC


24 Hour Reporting Hotline

In light of incidents on other campuses and to further enhance responsiveness, the University of Oklahoma has established a 24-hour Reporting Hotline. The hotline will serve as an added protection for OU students, handling reports of bias, discrimination, physical or mental harassment or misconduct by OU community members.

Access the 24-hour Hotline:
CALL: 844-428-6531